Crunch Time

In a little more than a month Why We Dance: Reaching the Hip-Hop Generation conference will take place at St. John’s Baptist Church in Scotch Plains, NJ. The exact date is Saturday, March 27, 2010. I am both excited and nervous. It still seems that there is still so much to do. No matter how much I plan for these program something always comes up.

The latest snafu is that I am in need of a workshop leader. The dancer that was slated to lead a workshop came into a wonderful opportunity. I am so happy for her but it means that she cannot do the workshop. I have to quickly come up with someone else and that is not easy.

Last night I met with my pastor at the youth meeting. I was hoping to go into more detail about the conference and get his input but the hour was late so I left him with materials. I am so happy that God gave me the foresight to print out the flyer and letter for him. He promised to read everything and get back to me. I will more than likely contact him in a day or so to keep this process moving.

There is no school today so I will be job searching and working on this conference. Next up is calling another presenter to work out her participation in this event.

The next 35 days are going to be crazy and I am going to let you in on the process and of course the outcome.

Here are a few tips on how to plan a Successful Dance Conference

  • Verify speaker and workshop leader participation in writing (email is okay).
  • Secure location early to avoid conflicts.
  • Have printed materials that you can leave in the event you are not able to have a meeting with intended person(s).
  • Keep a paper trail that you can refer to in regards to your conference.
  • Check out tomorrow for more tips!!!

    Leave a Reply

